Author Topic: Found an old friend  (Read 5389 times)

Offline Elmer Watson

• Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Found an old friend
« on: January 31, 2012, 09:26:42 PM »
As a deputy in the 1970's I carried revolvers.  Recently thanks to the Austrialian police going to semi automatics I was able to find an old friend a Smith & Wesson model 10-5 with a 3" barrel.  I am having a grand time and having many memories brought back to life.  Has anyone else found an old friend?
BOLD # 864
RATS # 373

Offline Tuolumne Lawman

• CAS-L Ghost Rider
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Grass Valley, CA in the Sierra Nevada Mountains
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 46
Re: Found an old friend
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2012, 05:33:10 PM »
I found an old friend.  In the 80s, I was a firearms instructor and rangemaster at a PD in Washington State.  We carried 59 and 439 S&Ws, so the S&W rep brought the new 469 S&W 12 shot for us to try.  It was a prototype.  I fired it and loved, so bought one the first year they issued them for an off-duty weapon.  Had it until the late 90s and sold it when I retired from the SO, after carrying it for about 15 years.  I regretted it immediately. About a year ago, I found a mint, 2nd year production 469 and grabbed it.  I LOVE it.  Fortunately I had kept most of the mags for it.  I shot a 498/500 on the BSIS Armed qualification with it in November.  It is my daily concealed carry weapon.  It is like an old friend.
TUOLUMNE LAWMAN
CO. F, 12th Illinois Cavalry  SASS # 6127 Life * Spencer Shooting Society #43 * Motherlode Shootist Society #1 * River City Regulators

Offline Capt. John Fitzgerald

• Deputy Marshal
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 34
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2012, 07:27:10 PM »