Author Topic: Does Olive Oil in BP lube go rancid?  (Read 1541 times)

Offline TheOtherLeft

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Does Olive Oil in BP lube go rancid?
« on: April 09, 2022, 01:16:08 AM »
I'm new to BP so am getting a few things together. I'm going to make my own lube and am wondering with the 50/50 beeswax/olive oil recipe, does it go rancid due to the olive oil and hence does it have a shelf life? My other option is 50/50 beeswax/tallow. Temperatures in my parts are between 10-40 deg C (50-100 deg F).

Offline Drydock

• MA1 USN ret. GAF #19, Colonel, Chief of Staff. BC, CC, SoM. SASS 1248 Life
  • American Plainsmen Society
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 18
Re: Does Olive Oil in BP lube go rancid?
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2022, 03:38:57 AM »
No.  At least mine has not.  Several years old.
Civilize them with a Krag . . .

Offline Mogorilla

• NCOWS Member
  • Top Active Citizen
  • NCOWS #: 3306
  • GAF #: 883
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 95
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2022, 11:21:57 AM »
Was a food oil chemist for 5 years.  All oils and fats will go rancid, just at different rates.   Extra virgin olive oil will last a good long while.  Cool closed storage is key

Advertising

« Reply #3 on: Today at 11:06:44 AM »

Offline Mogorilla

• NCOWS Member
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2022, 10:26:21 AM »