Author Topic: Double clutching a leaver rifle??  (Read 1165 times)

Offline Gundogblue

• Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Double clutching a leaver rifle??
« on: October 06, 2021, 10:17:36 AM »
I’m not sure of the exact term to use when you cycle a rnd in a leaver rifle and sometimes it won’t chamber until you very slightly push the leaver forward again
and close it to get a rnd chambered. Any way I’m fairly new to leaver guns I’ve only had them a few yrs but I noticed on occasion I have to work the lever like I described with my 1894 Marlin, and Henry Bigboy, but I never have to do that with my 92 Winchester Miruku. Is that fairly normal to have to do that on occasion? Or is it something I should have checked out? The 1894 Marin is of new manufacture and is a 44 mag. The Henry Bigboy is in .357 mag, and the Miruku  Winchester is in .45 Colt. I handload for them, but I’ve been hand loading since 1976 so I have plenty experience and know how to load. And I shoot lead RNFP boolits. Any advice on this will be greatly appreciated
Thanks,
Paul

Offline Dave T

• NCOWS Member
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 899
Re: Double clutching a leaver rifle??
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2021, 10:30:35 AM »
I think most people have experienced that at one time or another.

From you experience one might conclude John Moses Browning might have known a thing or two about firearms design.  (smiley face goes here)

Dave

Offline Abilene

• CAS-L Ghost Rider
  • Top Active Citizen
    • Abilene's CAS Pages
  • SASS #: 27489
  • NCOWS #: 3958
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 1174
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2021, 01:05:39 PM »
"Double-clutching" like that is very often due to OAL and/or bullet shape not being exactly what the gun likes.  Too short more often than too long.  So, loading 44 Spcl for a 44 mag or .38's in a .357 often do it, but since you are loading the full length brass, I'm not sure.

Advertising

« Reply #3 on: Today at 01:25:16 AM »