Author Topic: I need some input  (Read 2388 times)

Offline Delmonico

• Deputy Marshal
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 1
I need some input
« on: September 04, 2013, 03:09:40 PM »
I have a question for the folks here, I have been researching the foods of the latter 19th century for about 20 years and I'm trying to get my knowledge of such down before something happens to me. I;m doing this to help others so they don't have to do as much research. It goes beyond the Civil War to the settling of the plains, but I need some opinions, this is the lead up to the listings of the fruits and vegetables of the time, it's just a draft so I know I need to clean it up a bit.

With modern cultivators and modern storage and transportation, we have it made at times, but if we want to split hairs it also harms us being period correct. The decisions have to be made by the individual but does this sound like I'm pretty close to the idea with out hopefully offending anyone and calling them a hard core or a farb. (Yes I got called both a few years ago by the same guy on a forum board a few weeks apart. I felt it was a compliment and means I'm doing the best I can and still using common sense, always my goal.)

Vegetables and Fruits

We are living in good times as far as being able to go to the store and buy fruits and vegetables fresh, modern storage and modern transportation assures us that even the little stores in the small towns are going to have a decent supply of potatoes, carrots, onions, cabbage, plums, apples, peaches and other common fruits and vegetables, others are going to be there also, depending on how big the store is and the season.