Author Topic: Spencer markings 1st Cavalry  (Read 20161 times)

Offline twogunpete

• Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Spencer markings 1st Cavalry
« on: March 28, 2013, 08:21:51 PM »
I have a M1865 s/n 12008 with the markings "L Troop" 1st Cavalry clearly stamped on the very top of the butt stock directly in front of the butt plate itself. My question to this forum is whether this was common practice and whether anyone has observed  similar markings?  Or, is it possible someone  added to maybe enhance the value? The marks look period correct but I'm no expert.  The other cartouches EAW and DAT are present also. I did a little research about L Troop 1st Cavalry and it seems they were involved in a few skirmishes with the Indians post civil war up and down the western US. Also read somewhere that the US changed from "Company" to "Troop" in either 1881 or 1883 so if true it wouldn't have been stamped until then or afterward   Thanks - twogunpete

Offline FrontierWest

• Active citizen
  • Liked:
Re: Spencer markings 1st Cavalry
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2013, 08:41:48 PM »
My two cents...

Most all cavalry units were using Sharps at least in mid 1869 until mid 1874 when all cavalry switched to m1873 Springfields.

Troop was use in the 1880's and later.  I ahve a spoon marked Co. "E" 1st U.S. Cav.  I have seen other dug relics with similar markings, and yours I'm afraid Bubba has got a hold of her... I'd bet on it!

john

Offline Jobe Holiday

• Doc's half-wit, half-brother
  • Very Active Citizen
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2013, 10:00:29 AM »
A good photo of the markings would help to possibly determine authenticity of the markings.

J.
Life Member: NRA Benefactor, NMLRA, SCA, OMSA, EAF&GC

Advertising

« Reply #3 on: Today at 07:37:14 PM »

Offline twogunpete

• Citizen
  • Liked:
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2013, 07:32:55 PM »
Here is the best photo I have for now. I appreciate the feedback and help.

(Photo Posted by Two Flints)

Offline FrontierWest