Author Topic: Removing, Reinstalling Barrel for the 76  (Read 4442 times)

Offline CarverTripp

• Active citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Removing, Reinstalling Barrel for the 76
« on: December 14, 2007, 01:10:33 PM »
Howdy all,
At some point in time I'll be removing the barrel of my Uberti 76 for refinishing. I've never done one of these before and so I'd like to ask you better experienced folks, the best method and procedure for removing and then reinstalling so's I don't muck it up! I'm wondering what is the appropriate tools, (barrel vise ect.), and the best way to hold the receiver ect. By the way, thanks Grizzly for the tutorial on looking inside the 76, that was great.  :)
Thanks for the help,
Carver
NRA member
NCSA member

Offline Leverluver

• Very Active Citizen
  • Liked:
Re: Removing, Reinstalling Barrel for the 76
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2007, 03:03:31 PM »
I put the barrel in a barrel vice equipped with octagon wood blocks, although round barrel blocks migh twork just as well.  The action wrench (home made) was made for flat sided action.  The wrench must be positioned as far forward (close to barrel) as possible.  The action is not terribly strong (for wrenchs) due to the metal removed for the cartridge elevator.  The walls in that area are only ~1/8" thick so crowd as far forward as you can.  I put the elevator into the mortice and put a layer of masking tape to both hold the elevator in and to keep the wrench from leaving marks.  The elevator adds some strength to the thin walled action.  When I go back together, I will machine a metal block that is a perfect fit to the action to take the place of the elevator; that would make it even stronger.  Luckily, the barrel was not in that tight and just one pop on the action wrench broke it lose.  It was not in there anything like the barrel on a bolt action.     

Offline CarverTripp

• Active citizen
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2007, 03:20:38 PM »
Thank you Leverluver,