Author Topic: Press Recommendations?  (Read 8148 times)

Offline Coal Creek Griff

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 638
Press Recommendations?
« on: November 15, 2012, 09:40:51 PM »
I've been handloading for 25 years, using a single-stage RCBS Partner press. It was all I could afford in my younger days.  Sometimes I wish I had more leverage, so I'm looking for a larger press.  Since it will likely be my last press, I'm looking for advice.  

I don't want a progressive press.  I'm in no real hurry when I'm loading and I find it relaxing.  I am thinking of a turret  press,  though, for the convenience.  Any suggestions?  What are some very solid presses that minimize play in the turret?  I'm thinking of the Redding T-7. Does anyone have experience with that?

CC Griff

(Edited to correct the model of my current press.)
Manager, WT Ranch--Coal Creek Division

BOLD #921
BOSS #196
1860 Henry Rifle Shooter #173
SSS #573

Offline Deadeye Don

• SASS # 76281
  • NCOWS Member
  • Top Active Citizen
  • DeadeyeDon
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 1
Re: Press Recommendations?
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2012, 06:05:29 AM »
Why don't you want a progressive press?  You can still take your time and load one cartridge at a time, but yet have a high quality machine that would load faster if you need to do so at some point.  I would go with a Dillon 550B.  Lifetime guarantee and it will do everything you need even if you want to do it slowly.
Great Lakes Freight and Mining Company

Offline joec

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2012, 07:00:47 AM »
I highly recommend the Lee Classic Turret Press. I have one and it is great.
Joe
NCOWS 3384

Advertising

« Reply #3 on: Today at 12:38:21 PM »

Offline Johnny McCrae

• Bristol Plains Pistoleros, Sweetwater Regulators
  • NCOWS Member
  • Top Active Citizen
  • The older the violin, the finer the music
    • Johnny McCrae
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 268