Author Topic: 56-52 Spencer Rifle reloading to Shoot & Thanks for The Ad  (Read 3031 times)

Offline LondonArmoury

• Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
56-52 Spencer Rifle reloading to Shoot & Thanks for The Ad
« on: September 18, 2020, 07:31:14 PM »
Hi I am new to Spencer rifles and to this forum. I am looking at a Original 1860 Rifle Listed as in .52 ? to purchase, but can not find any cartridge Case that can be modified for use with the S&S center fire conversion in .56-.52. I already load and shoot a 1867 Danish rolling block, a 45/701884 Springfield & a .577 snider with successe. Am i correct that 50-70 can be cut down and possibly resized to 56-52 or am I mistaken and if so what would work. I need to sort my plans out before pulling the trigger and buying a rifle I can not shoot
LA

Offline DJ

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 7
Re: 56-52 Spencer Rifle reloading to Shoot & Thanks for The Add
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2020, 09:29:18 PM »
If yours is a Model 1860 it is probably in 56-56 Spencer caliber, although it could have been modified to .56-50.  Either case can be formed from .50-70 brass.  You will need to trim the length and may have to reduce rim diameter and also chamfer both the front and back edges of the rim slightly (somehow that seems to help with loading and feeding).

They're fun to shoot and kick less than a Snider.

Offline Two Flints

• Spencer Shooting Society Founder & Moderator
  • Deputy Marshal
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Moderating SSS IS a "Labor of Love"!
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 2
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2020, 04:24:52 AM »
check out this link regarding the 50-70 loads.

https://www.cascity.com/forumhall/index.php?topic=40010.0

Two Flints

Una mano lava l'altra
Moderating SSS is a "labor of love"
Viet Vet  '68-69
3/12 - 4th Inf Div
Spencer Shooting Society Moderator
Spencer Shooting Society (SSS) #4;
BOSS #62
NRA; GOAL; SAM; NMLRA
Fur Trade Era - Mountain Man
Traditional Archery

Advertising