Author Topic: Essential equipment for a new shooter  (Read 8688 times)

Offline TheOtherLeft

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Essential equipment for a new shooter
« on: August 27, 2013, 07:23:13 PM »
Hi all,

I am just getting into CAS and have 2 Ruger New Vaqueros (.38/.357), a Stoeger 12G and a Uberti 1873 (.38/.357) waiting for me at my local gunshop.

These are my first firearms so have no equipment etc and hence starting from scratch. I have a Lee Classic Turret Press but need to find some 38 cal dies as they seem to be sold out everywhere.

What would you recommend as essential equipment I should buy?

Thanks.

Offline pony express

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
Re: Essential equipment for a new shooter
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2013, 08:22:46 PM »
Are the dies sold out at Graf's, Midway, etc? If so, maybe try e-bay, that's probably where all those sold out dies went. Do you already reload? Do you have any leather gear? Maybe you could borrow some and go to a shoot(or go to a shoot and borrow some, at most shoots there's guys with extras.) Or you could order some "entry level" leather gear from Cabellas, Midway, etc. Basically you'll need a belt, couple of holsters, some way to carry some shotshells. A shotshell slide that goes over the gunbelt is the simplest solution. Also, at least some kind of shooters bag or saddlebags to carry extra ammo, empty brass,and such. I wouldn't worry about a gun cart at this time, if the range you go to doesn't have rifle racks, you can probably hitch a ride on someone's cart for a few shoots. Basically, don't spend too much on extras right now, you'll probably "evolve" through several sets of equipment if you stick with CAS.

Offline Bugscuffle

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2013, 07:05:35 PM »

Good choice on the lee turret press. To get you STARTED at the reloading bench:
Reloading manual
Powder measure
Powder scale