Author Topic: Afgan Martini Henry  (Read 1502 times)

Offline Bat 2919

• G Man / Bat Masterson
  • Top Active Citizen
    • Sand Creek Raiders
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 1
Afgan Martini Henry
« on: May 15, 2015, 11:28:45 AM »
Ran across something a little different in a local gun store yesterday.  When I asked to see the Martini Henry the kid behind the counter looked at me like I had three heads.  After pointing it out and after being told it was a consignment gun from a guy who had been selling guns belonging to his father, he handed it me, the tag said "Martini-made in Afghanistan .303 British"  This rifle was in remarkably good shape.  Action felt tight and lockup also appeared to be strong but I'm no expert on these guns.  Metal looked like it may have been cleaned up on the outside and the wood was also very clean.  The markings on the right side of the receiver ( I didn't take a photo so I cant be sure) appear to be very similar to the Afgan Royal Armory markings I found when I did some research last night.  Bore was definitely 30 caliber and not 45 or 57.  As most barrels do, it had a bunch of crap in it but the lands appeared to be strong, grooves are anyone's bet.  Price tag said $300.  I didn't ask too many questions about the gun or owner, kid couldn't have answered them in any case.  

Now, I don't need another project gun right now.  I haven't even shot the Trapdoor Springfield I bought last fall that I plan to make my next project, if  I can ever find the time.  So, If anyone wants more info let me know.  I'd be happy if one of our resident experts just gave us a little background on this gun.
Happy Trails

G Man / Bat Masterson
NRA Endowment
SASS #2919L
AZSA #11L
NCOWS #530
BOLD# 276
GAF #750

Offline Drydock

• MA1 USN ret. GAF #19, Colonel, Chief of Staff. BC, CC, SoM. SASS 1248 Life
  • American Plainsmen Society
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 18
Re: Afgan Martini Henry
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2015, 12:05:59 PM »