Author Topic: Help identifying a remington revolver  (Read 3755 times)

Offline Mad Miles

• Active citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Help identifying a remington revolver
« on: February 16, 2022, 10:50:51 AM »
Good morning,
Yesterday I took possession of a few old firearms.  These have been in a wooden box up in a room above a shop for years.  Not in the greatest of shape but I'd like to get to know more about them and how to inspect/repair in order to shoot.  Along with the Mauser C-96, colt model 1872, Savage model 1899,  1918 Lee Enfield, Ranger 12 gauge, and a AMD percussion cap long gun of some sort, I found a Remington revolver.

I looked all over the internet, I'm not good at that sort of activity, and have determined it's what some call a model 1858, which is supposed to be a percussion gun.  This doesn't look like a percussion revolver but I read some were converted from percussion to cartridge.  This revolver seems to have a two piece chamber (cylinder ?), perhaps the back half was cut off and a non percussion part was attached?  I assume the cylinder with the six bores in it is called the chamber?

It has 'PATENTED SEPT 14. 1858' on the top of the barrel with 'E. REMINGTON & SONS ILION  NEWYORK U.S.A.'  underneath. There is a 'C' stamped on the right side of the barrel just ahead of the mainframe, an 'A' stamped on the left side of the barrel just ahead of the main frame, there are two 'J's stamped on the chamber near the rear 180 degrees apart from one another.  There is an 'S' stamped in the frame above the hammer pivot screw head on the left side, and an 'M' stamped on the left side of the frame just behind the brass trigger guard.

The serial number 33250 is stamped on the bottom of the barrel.