Special Interests - Groups & Societies > Shotguns

New to CAS - shotgun "fit" question

(1/2) > >>

TheOtherLeft:
Hi guys,

I am new to CAS and new to shotguns. In fact I shot my first shotgun today at a CAS event. It was single trigger Stoeger SxS.

After a lot of reading, mainly from trap/skeet shooters it seems the fit of the shotgun of vital, i.e. fit to your shoulder and how well you sight in with respect to the stock/comb etc. Is there any truth to this for CAS?

Is it the same process as finding your "fit" for a rifle? I also shot a Uberti 73 lever action today and it took a little getting used to. It was the first time I've shot a lever action as well.

I did hit all of my targets though, including with the pistols. I've shot many pistols matches (ISSF, Service etc) though so was most comfortable shooting these compared to the longarms.

St. George:
Shotgun 'fit' is vital when shooting Trap and Skeet - where you actually have small, fast-moving targets to hit (or try to) at various distances and angles.

In C&WAS - you can pretty much point the weapon at the target and hit it, because of the ridiculously close range, so it's not like it's difficult, when compared to trapshooting.

Concentrate on staying calm during your event - accuracy counts for more than speed.

As to the rifle's 'fit' - get out on the range, and practice, practice, practice - and do that with everything you shoot.

It pays off.

Scouts Out!

Shotgun Franklin:
Yep, you'll go to fit the gun. Shoot a couple of hundred rounds through it and it'll fit just fine.

Advertising:

Major 2:
There a few things that will help you to fit a particular Shotgun ( or rifle for that matter )

Trigger pull   ( or length of pull ), determine which eye is Eye dominate , drop at cheek or comb and Butt Plate shapes & or angle and amount of drop.
You can just take for granite, the average shotgun for the masses is a compromise...I:E that Stoeger SxS