Author Topic: Modify Win 1897 shotgun or not?  (Read 15367 times)

Offline McCrower

• Very Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 11
Modify Win 1897 shotgun or not?
« on: February 07, 2015, 03:40:09 PM »
I am new to CAS and my club is just starting up with this great activity. I am preparing myself and have just ordered a used Win mod 1897 shotgun from the USA. I am going to use it for cas, not for hunting or as a wallhanger. The barrel length is 30". So my questions are:
- Should I cut down the barrel when I get it? to 20"?
- Should I be concerned about the finish? "Reblue" it?

McCrower
Norway

Image not my gun, just an illustration  ;)

Offline Sir Charles deMouton-Black

• THE ANCIENT SUBSTANCE ENDURES - ALL LESSER PROPELLANTS SHALL FIZZLE
  • NCOWS Member
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 407
Re: Modify Win 1897 shotgun or not?
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2015, 04:30:20 PM »
Some will say that once you own it, do what you want. They will suggest that it will be easier to maneuver around the props if it is shorter. I myself have one cut to 22" and fitted with a "thinwall" choke. It had a Weaver Dial-a-duck choke when I got it and there was no value in it.

My personal experience is that shorter is not necessarily better. My personal best matches were accomplished with a full choke 30" barrel.

Cutting the barrel will;
-  make it much less useful for other shooting games or hunting
-  cut it's resale value to non-CAS customers, and useless to collectors (If any exist?)
-  make knock-down targets harder to tip with wide patterns

This is an old debate and I am notorious for opposing the use of the hacksaw. It is somewhat a matter of opinion, but TRY IT AS IT IS FOR AWHILE BEFORE YOU CHOP.
NCOWS #1154, SCORRS, STORM, BROW, 1860 Henry, Dirty Rat 502, CHINOOK COUNTRY
THE SUBLYME & HOLY ORDER OF THE SOOT (SHOTS)
Those who are no longer ignorant of History may relive it,
without the Blood, Sweat, and Tears.