Author Topic: Pyrodex/Ballistol (Long Post)  (Read 32752 times)

Offline Arcey

• Underlord of Soot
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Pyrodex/Ballistol (Long Post)
« on: July 17, 2005, 03:43:22 PM »
This is nothing more, or less, than the documentation of the treatment of one particular revolver over a specific period of time.  Nothing in this post is intended to persuade, or dissuade, anyone from using any product mentioned.  It is, quite simply, a report from one shooter on the activities and conditions under which a particular test was conducted.  Nothing in this post is intended to support or denigrate the experiences, observations or opinions of others.

It is the end product of my need to know.  By profession, I am an investigator.  At least that’s what my business cards say.  My pay checks say the same thing and they have for over twenty years, broken service notwithstanding.

I needed, or wanted, to know, because I have revolvers I care for very much.  Pieces I don’t want ruined.  They are to be shot, not looked upon as museum pieces.  That said I don’t want them damaged.  Being objective in my conclusions is the goal.  Often, subjectivity is unavoidable.  That must be admitted.

Being half-fast with a computer, this file was produced in Word, copied and pasted into this post format.  Hopefully it will be coherent on this board.

To business, there has been some talk recently about Pyrodex, fillers and corrosion.  Since I use Pyrodex, and fillers, I thought I’d find out for myself.