Author Topic: Reloading question  (Read 6068 times)

Offline jrdudas

• Very Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Reloading question
« on: October 06, 2009, 03:55:34 PM »
I am brand new to reloading and I have just acquired my equipment.  I had been saving my brass for some time and found that I have enough so that I will not have to buy any for a while. 

Here's my question;

With regard to cleaning the brass;  do you recommend cleaning the brass before removing the old primer or after removal.  I would think that the primer should be removed first in order to also clean the primer pocket.  However, won't that expose your die set to a bunch of grime that could damage it.  Or is it more correct to clean the brass before removing the primer and then cleaning it again after removal.

Also, please comment on my planned cleaning method.  I do not have a tumbler as yet so I intend to soak the brass in a bucket using 409 as the cleaner.  Then agitate by hand for short while; then rinse off the brass and allow it to air dry.

Thanks for your comments,

JR

Offline Driftwood Johnson

• Driftwood Johnson
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
Re: Reloading question
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2009, 06:41:02 PM »
Howdy