Author Topic: .45-70 Cal. rifle, Is it SASS legal??  (Read 7987 times)

Offline Eagle Eyes Jefferson

• Chaplain for Department of the Atlantic
  • American Plainsmen Society
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
.45-70 Cal. rifle, Is it SASS legal??
« on: August 07, 2007, 10:26:01 AM »
Since I'm new to this game I thought I would post this question to my esteemed colleagues on this board. I have read the SASS rules for firearms and it appears that the rifle cartridge of .45-70 cal. is not legal. Can anyone give more explaination or am I misreading the regs???? (I see that it is legal for NCOWS, another reason for a new posse in Va. and for GAF). Any input will be appreciated.

EEJ
Eagle Eyes Jefferson
Chaplain for Department of the Atlantic
GAF #478
Department of the Atlantic
BOLD #893

Offline Dusty Tagalon

• NCOWS Member
  • Top Active Citizen
  • SASS 32291, NCOWS L170, GAF 74
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 2
Re: .45-70 Cal. rifle, Is it SASS legal??
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2007, 10:49:38 AM »
Side matches typical use for 45/70.

SIDE MATCHES

THE PLAINSMAN
This event requires two .36 caliber or larger Traditional style percussion revolvers, shot Duelist style. Must use a SASS–legal single-shot rifle firing a traditional blackpowder rifle or revolver caliber cartridge (e.g., not a .30-30). The rifle may have spring actuated ejectors if they are standard for that rifle.  Must use a side by side, with or without exposed hammers or lever action shotgun. Must use blackpowder in all loads (rifle, revolver, and shotgun).

LONG RANGE (OR PRECISION) RIFLE