Author Topic: 1885 Highwall Question  (Read 13947 times)

Offline Tuolumne Lawman

• CAS-L Ghost Rider
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Grass Valley, CA in the Sierra Nevada Mountains
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 46
1885 Highwall Question
« on: February 01, 2006, 04:00:39 PM »
Howdy to the Camp

I just got an 1885 Uberti Highwall in 45-90 to do a Cowboy Chronicle aricle on.  I know Sharps and Rolling blocks somewhat, but the Highwall I have little experience with. 

The question is this: I could have sworn that when you work the action on a Highwall, the hammer cocks itself on the upstroke.  This one doesn't.  You must cock the hammer with youre thumb after cycling the action.  Maybe I am just dreaming, but I thought it was supposed to cock!

BTW, beautiful gun with an Awesome trigger from the factory.  About 1 to 1 1/2 puunds and sweet!
TUOLUMNE LAWMAN
CO. F, 12th Illinois Cavalry  SASS # 6127 Life * Spencer Shooting Society #43 * Motherlode Shootist Society #1 * River City Regulators

Offline Four-Eyed Buck

• Top Active Citizen
  • Tusco LongRiders,
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: 1885 Highwall Question
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2006, 04:31:12 PM »
TL, I believe the Uberti's aren't supposed to. Might be a consequence of being able to copy the action, or a safety measure.........Buck 8) ::) :-\
I might be slow, but I'm mostly accurate.....

Offline Bounty Bill

• Citizen
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2006, 06:14:21 PM »
I have a Browning 1885 BPCR High Wall 45/70 and it does cock the hammer itself when you raise the lever and block.  I also have a original 1885 Winchester Low Wall 22 cal that has the fly in it and it does not go to full cock when the lever and block are raised.  Also a Winchseter High Wall 38/55 that the hammer does cock when the lever and block are raised.

Bounty Bill

Advertising

« Reply #3 on: Today at 08:21:20 PM »

Offline Ed Clintwood

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2006, 06:26:20 PM »