Author Topic: 1866 question on safety  (Read 763 times)

Offline Iron City Sage

• NCOWS Member
  • Active citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 16
1866 question on safety
« on: July 06, 2023, 03:26:48 PM »
Howdy! I’m new to the sport, for the most part. Not new to shooting, by any stretch, just more familiar with Uncle Sam’s scary black guns the M-16/M-4 and M-9, and my modern automatics than I am with the somewhat older options most of you use today.

I have a decent set of irons, a pair of Evil Roy pistols, a Remington S/S hammer gun, and a 1896 Carbine (useless for SASS as it only holds 8 rounds, but usable at NCOWS matches where you only load 5 anyway) and a gorgeous 1873. Problem is, now my wife wants to shoot too, and decided the ‘73 is now hers. Alright……

No problem, I love brass anyway. My saddle hardware is all brass, and most of my other real cowboy stuff has brass accents or hardware. So……pretty sure I need an 1866.

Question is, after seeing the video posted here about the Henry blowing up on the guy, how safe are the ‘66’s? Specifically, are the new recreations by Taylor/Cimarron etc equipped with a trigger safety to keep from inadvertently firing a round out of battery like the 73? I can see that being a problem, in a fast firing match, and other than that, I am ready to get me a new pretty brass yellow boy. But…..if I’m at risk of firing out of battery, maybe I should just get another ‘73 for myself.  Thanks!

Iron City Sage

Offline Tuolumne Lawman

• CAS-L Ghost Rider
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Grass Valley, CA in the Sierra Nevada Mountains
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 46
Re: 1866 question on safety
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2023, 03:37:23 PM »
Completely safe.  If you triple load Unique, etc, any rifler will blow up..
TUOLUMNE LAWMAN
CO. F, 12th Illinois Cavalry  SASS # 6127 Life * Spencer Shooting Society #43 * Motherlode Shootist Society #1 * River City Regulators

Offline Iron City Sage

• NCOWS Member
  • Active citizen
  • Liked: