Author Topic: 44 s&w American reloading question about 41 special brass.  (Read 1414 times)

Offline HamptonBogs45

• Citizen
  • SASS #: 110635
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 14
44 s&w American reloading question about 41 special brass.
« on: December 05, 2021, 02:30:34 AM »
Hello all, for those that reload 44 s&w American, I am just getting into it, I see everyone mentions using trimmed 41 magnum brass to make brass for the 44 s&w American. I don’t see any mention of 41 special cases being used. Is that because it’s newer and wasn’t around yet so the old forum posts I’m reading it wasn’t available? I see 41 special brass available everywhere in stock but not 41 magnum. So it’d be much easier to get the special. From looking at the dimensions for 41 special, the cases are still longer than the American so there’s room to trim still. Is there any reason why I can’t use the special versus the magnum? It would be much less trimming using the special. Also, any bullets moulds available? I see the buffalo arms and old west bullets moulds are out of stock. Thanks!
“Life’s hard, it’s harder if you’re stupid.” -John Wayne

“Who’s the fella owns this sh*thole?”-William Munny

“You gonna pull those pistols? Or whistle Dixie?”-Josey Wales

Offline AntiqueSledMan

• Very Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 40
Re: 44 s&w American reloading question about 41 special brass.
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2021, 05:33:25 AM »
Hello HamptonBogs45,

I can see no reason not to use the .41 Special case.
Checked on Old West Bullet Molds, out of stock.
Maybe a mold from Accurate Molds.

AntiqueSledMan.

Offline David Battersby

• Very Active Citizen
  • Smokeless powder is a passing fad .
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 34
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2021, 09:43:48 AM »
   The 41 Special is listed everywhere I look as a WILDCAT , non standardized cartridge with no production guns available.  There have been custom manufactured firearms in this cartridge, but no factory guns.