Author Topic: Fitting 45ACP into Uberti Cattleman need help please.  (Read 16717 times)

Offline marko

• Active citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Fitting 45ACP into Uberti Cattleman need help please.
« on: June 09, 2016, 05:46:51 PM »
A few months ago as i posted here i purchased a Uberti Flattop target 45c, i just purchased from VTI a 45acp cylinder and as you know it requires some fitting. I have never done this before and have concerns... do i sand both the bushing and the star measuring carefully as i go along? Or do i send it to VTI to be fitted for a flat fee of $250 pluse shipping both ways anther almost $!00 I need help please.

Marko

Offline Coffinmaker

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 125
Re: Fitting 45ACP into Uberti Cattleman need help please.
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2016, 07:21:27 PM »
Other than to polish the Burrs off the star, leave it alone.  The star establishes your head space.  Before messing at the star end, load
the cylinder with EMPTY cases and check the head space.  Optimum is .004 or .005.  Just set the cylinder with the cases in the chambers
into the recess at the back of the recoil shield and check head space with a feeler gauge.
Then install the Bushing and see if it will fit the window.  With a very flat surface and 350 Wet/Dry paper, carefully surface the Bushing
until it just slides into the window.  You don't and more than .002 End Shake (fore and aft movement).

Coffinmaker

Offline marko

• Active citizen
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2016, 07:53:26 PM »
Coffin maker.

I got out my calipers and on the fitted 45c cylinder the bushing is 46.52 mm the cylinder to the top of one of the stars is 45.10mm the new unfitted 45ACP cylinder bushing measures 46.67 mm and the cylinder to the top of one of the stars measures 45.20MM. So DO NOT sand the star end at all? Only the bushing side?

Advertising

« Reply #3 on: Today at 11:58:12 AM »

Offline Coffinmaker

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked: