Author Topic: Original Winchester 66 breech block  (Read 1478 times)

Offline Wombat3

• Citizen
    • Wombat3
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Original Winchester 66 breech block
« on: June 09, 2020, 04:23:33 PM »
Hi All
My Question is can a original Winchester 73 breech block be machined to 66 specs?

Offline DJ

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 7
Re: Original Winchester 66 breech block
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2020, 07:18:57 PM »
No expert here, but I tried a repro '73 in an original '66 and it took a bunch of filing and fitting, but I don't think I put it in the mill. 

What are you contemplating?  Because the firing pin retention system is different, and you'll end up with a gap where the firing pin retractor goes.

--DJ

Offline Wombat3

• Citizen
    • Wombat3
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2020, 08:42:23 PM »
Yes I’m no expert either. I have a 66 that is missing some parts, and 66 parts here in Australia are rare as rocking horse pop.  I have contacted some USA reproduction parts people but there unwilling to ship to Australia.
I have a spare 73 breech block and was hoping I could get some one to machine it to fit.  I would also have to get a piston and striker made for it as well. I have a spare set of 73 toggle links not sure if they will work in the 66 . Any advice anyone can give I would be very grateful.

Advertising

« Reply #3 on: Today at 11:28:33 AM »

Offline DJ

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2020, 08:40:14 AM »
I may be mistaken, but I think the repro 1866 and 1873 breechblocks may be the same or very close to one another--I don't think the modern factories followed the original '66 design that closely.  Regarding the block I toyed with, I  recall that the original '66 had some squared off corners where they were rounded off on the repro block.  I don't know if that would affect function or not.