CAS TOPICS > Gun Reviews

From C&B to Conversion

(1/8) > >>

blackpowder:
Hi all around,

I am fairly new to blackpowder shooting. My only C&B Revolver is an old 70s vintage .44 Colt-Clone made by Faul-Centaure in Belgium. Its a very solid gun and I like shooting it. Now I am looking for a good new clone in the same caliber, which, at some point I can also convert to cartridge loads like the .45 long colt or 44-40.
1. Can anyone recommend a good quality pistol (I hear the Italian clones are well made) ?
2. It should be suitable for conversion as well and the necessary parts available on the market (which is not the case with my Centaure).
3. To which cartridge caliber can a .44 C&B most easily be converted?

Thanks for sharing your experience,

:)

Lucky R. K.:
Hello Blackpowder,
Your Cenature is indeed a well made collectable pistol and should not be shot. I would recommend replicas of either the Colt 1851 Navy or the 1860 Army made by either Uberiti or Pietta. The bores are .451 so you could use conversion cylinders chambered in 45 Colt. I shoot 45 Cowboy Special in mine with great results.

Lucky

Major 2:
Pietta or Uberti are both supported by Kirst Konverters ...both are fine BP guns and both need some adjustment for fit, and reliability.

Fact is if you buy a new gun from either manufacturer, then buy the Gated Kirst Konventer & pay a smith to fit the mods & adjust the gun, frankly you'll have more money invested than if you had purchased a new Conversion for Uberti . Since you asked about 44 ( your Barrel will be .451 )

The plus side ...very nice gun , forged frame , good quality and many calibers to choose from ( 38 special  44 Spcl , Russian or Colt 45 Colt )

Your Centaure is nice gun and can be custom fitted with conversion, I think from the Kirst Pietta part

There is also The Kenny Howell R&D drop in conversion from Taylor's in Winchester Va. these are also made for Pietta & Uberti.