Author Topic: Joining Up  (Read 3906 times)

Offline Dave T

• NCOWS Member
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 899
Joining Up
« on: April 13, 2016, 02:21:28 PM »
I'm new to CasCity but not to wearing a badge or CAS. Long since retired but I was a Deputy Sheriff, then a Detective and for my last 6 years the chief firearms instructor and range master for the Pima County Sheriff's Dept., Tucson, AZ. I was active in what I liked to call "cowboy shooting" for 9 years before opening my own firearms training business.

I carried one model or other of Colt 1911 45 ACP for all but my probationary year on the department. Not surprisingly with single actions my first love was always the 45 Colt and I was lucky enough to own a few restored 1st Gen Colts, which fired only BP hand loads. Did a lot of research on the performance of the original BP loads and reproduced it with modern components. Slowed me down but I didn't care. Loved the cloud of smoke, the smell and the way those steel targets hit the ground. However, match directors didn't like me all that much (LOL).

Back in my SASS shooting days I thought of myself as a Western Lawman, which wasn't all that much of a stretch. Now that I'm getting back into 19th Century style SA revolvers and LA rifles I still think of myself that way. I'm too old and busted up to do anything like that any more, but shooting the old style guns is a way to relive a little of the romance and reality of those days and that profession.

Dave
Deputy Ret.

Offline Coal Creek Griff

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 633
Re: Joining Up
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2016, 06:49:36 PM »
Welcome!  Jump in and offer some insights from your years of LE and firearms experience; we can all learn!

CC Griff
Manager, WT Ranch--Coal Creek Division

BOLD #921
BOSS #196
1860 Henry Rifle Shooter #173
SSS #573

Offline Dave T

• NCOWS Member
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2016, 02:04:27 PM »