Author Topic: Couple of questions about my new Lee Pro 1000  (Read 5745 times)

Offline Sawed-Off

• Active citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Couple of questions about my new Lee Pro 1000
« on: September 04, 2008, 02:41:12 AM »
Howdy Pards

This is my first time reloading, and I'm just about ready to start pulling the handle in earnest on my new press. I just have a couple of questions to make sure I understand everything.

I've had one case moving around all the stations fine, mostly. While I was working out the VMD of my batch of Trail Boss, what I've noticed is after it drops the powder/expands the case neck, as I pull the handle back up the case comes down a small way and then "sticks". I have to give the handle a firm push to get the case to come out of the charge/expander die. It goes in smoothly on the downstroke of the handle. Is this sticking normal? I don't know if it matters, but I'm loading .45 LC.

Also, what is the best process for removing the powder measure to put powder back in the can so I don't make a mess? After I turn the powder measure to off, there's still some powder in the charge bar. Should I just run an empty case through the charging station a couple of times to empty it (then dumping the charges into the can) before removing the powder measure?

I hope that all made sense.  :)
Cairns City Cowboys #445
S.A.S.A. #4090

Offline Missouri Marshal

• Top Active Citizen
    • Missouri Marshal's Cowboy Action Shooting Homestead
  • Liked:
Re: Couple of questions about my new Lee Pro 1000
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2008, 06:32:05 AM »
Howdy Pard,