Author Topic: Colt SAA guidance  (Read 5006 times)

Offline M113A3

• Very Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Colt SAA guidance
« on: October 22, 2014, 02:20:02 PM »
Ok I recently got into single action with a Cimarron 1851 Navy RM conversion and now I am hooked so started to look at the SAA offerings.

I first looked at the Evil Roy and then the Long Hunter version of the Smoke Wagon but quickly decided if this is something I will pass down it should be a Colt.

Now my dilemma is all the choices not to mention the cost. I think a modern version (Gen 3?) should work but like many things I sure there are lots of nuance and variations and am hopeful you all can provide some pointers.  ;D

Additionally I have read Colt only produces limited numbers per year so there is a backlog but not sure if this is currently the case so I started my quest at Gunbroker which is a bit overwhelming since I have no experience with Colt SAA.

Thanks in advance!

Offline St. George

• Deputy Marshal
  • Top Active Citizen
  • NCOWS , GAF, B.O.L.D., Order of St. George, SOCOM,
  • Liked:
Re: Colt SAA guidence
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2014, 02:58:46 PM »
You made a wise choice - 'Real cowboys Shoot Colts'.

Start by looking through the 'back pages' on this forum, and you'll get many of your questions answered, because they've already been asked, and there are numerous threads on them.

Do some research - decide on things like finish, caliber, grips and length of barrel - all of which will help narrow your search.

Gunbroker has quite a few available - check frequently to see what they actually sell for, and not what someone's asking - quite often, there's a wide gap.

Good Hunting!

Scouts Out!

"It Wasn't Cowboys and Ponies - It Was Horses and Men.
It Wasn't Schoolboys and Ladies - It Was Cowtowns and Sin..."

Offline M113A3

• Very Active Citizen
  • Liked:
Re: Colt SAA guidence
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2014, 10:13:35 PM »