Author Topic: Scoring  (Read 4420 times)

Offline Doc Shapiro

• Top Active Citizen
    • Custom Handmade Pistol Grips
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Scoring
« on: April 14, 2004, 11:07:03 PM »
I sat down and wrote an article on the various scoring methods.  I think this will be a good starting point for discussion.  See it at: http://www.jspublications.net/tips/Scoring.html

Doc

Offline Marauder

• CAS-L Ghost Rider
  • Top Active Citizen
    • Marauder's Old West Page
  • Liked:
Re: Scoring
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2004, 12:56:50 PM »
Interesting, Doc.

One thing to remember is that when I started shooting SASS only some clubs had a computer.  Many were scoring with a calculator or by hand.  So they could not handle a complicated system.  Rank and total time were both pretty easy to do manually.  Computers do give us some additional flexibility, but do we want to require everyone to buy a $250 program, or would SASS provide one?

As to the suggested scoring, I’ve heard good things about some of them so twas eager to see your example.

It would take a lot of study and additional comparisons to see what the difference would really be.  But my initial guess would be that it may take a larger change including changing the penalty for a miss.  From a quick review, is 5 seconds appropriate for a miss – when using this new system?
For example, when I look at the results from stage four.  The time difference between places 1 & 2 (Bud & Doc) was 5 seconds with a variation of 4.3 it points.  The variation between 2 & 3 (Doc & J.C.) is 0.7 seconds with a variation of over 15 hit points.  This is a much lower difference in time but a higher variation in hit points.  Wouldn’t this be questioned?