Author Topic: New model army, repro or real deal?  (Read 3257 times)

Offline Tula Berdanka

• Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
New model army, repro or real deal?
« on: July 09, 2020, 10:41:24 PM »
Hello, my stepfather has recently been cleaning out the attic and he came across this Remington New Model that he had forgotten was up there. It was given to him more than 20 years ago by his best friends wife after his passing. We both thought it was a reproduction but upon further inspection I have not found any Italian markings and I’ve never seen a repro that stamped the original markings on the barrel. Would appreciate you folks input on this as I am not an expert in this field, have only had Colts and have never had a Remington (repro or original).
Warning, it is in pretty rough shape

Offline Tula Berdanka

• Citizen
  • Liked:
Re: New model army, repro or real deal?
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2020, 10:43:54 PM »
More

Offline Tula Berdanka

• Citizen
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2020, 10:45:44 PM »
Grips appear to be Birdseye maple?

Advertising

« Reply #3 on: Today at 06:24:04 AM »

Offline hellgate

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2020, 11:04:08 PM »
I've never seen a repro with that many markings on it (cylinder, frame, trigger guard. I don't know if Remingtons had progressive rifling like the colts but if you took out the cylinder and saw that the riflings were gain twist then it's an original. Repros don't have stamping on the trigger gard (that I have seen). Look under the barrel where the cylinder pin rests for any proof marks. If it is the real deal it sure has a lot of bluing left on it unless it was reblued at one time. The serial # looks hand stamped. If the screws are metric then it's a repro. There may be more markings under the grips on the frame. I doubt the grips are original. They look so unworn. If it is a fake it is a fairly good one.