Author Topic: Replacing the block in an H&R officers model with an original Springfield  (Read 755 times)

Offline Roscoe Coles

• Top Active Citizen
  • SSS Spencer Shotgun Resident Expert
  • SASS #: 1188
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 1
I have an H&R officers model that I am going to condone work on.  I am thinking about replacing the block with an original Springfield to get rid of the sometimes problematic locking system used by H&R.  Can anyone that has done this tell me what needs to be done to make this conversion and if there is a specific year/model of Springfield block that needs to be used?  I am a smith and machinist, so modifications are not an issue, I just would like to get a preview of what is involved. 

Offline St. George

• Deputy Marshal
  • Top Active Citizen
  • NCOWS , GAF, B.O.L.D., Order of St. George, SOCOM,
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
The problem can exist in the cam - not necessarily the bolt proper.

H&R used a lot of new-condition original parts in the earliest commemoratives - the only thing they didn't was the receiver and tang - 'that' they cast as a one-piece unit.

Scouts Out!
"It Wasn't Cowboys and Ponies - It Was Horses and Men.
It Wasn't Schoolboys and Ladies - It Was Cowtowns and Sin..."

Offline Roscoe Coles

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
The bolt is also different.  H&R simplified the original design, making it necessary to use a latch with a removable cam lug, which is the root of the problem for some of the H&R guns. I have read on other forums that people have replaced the H&R block with either an original or Pedersoli block in order to use the original style latch.  This seems like a good idea.  There is some discussion of the need for machining, but no details on needs to be done.  Hence my enquiry. 

Advertising

Offline Roscoe Coles

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
Many have not, many have. In any case, I am working on my gun, not yours. 

Offline Roscoe Coles

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
 No worries.