Author Topic: BP and cleaning the Ruger New Vaquero?  (Read 2778 times)

Offline McCrower

• Very Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 11
BP and cleaning the Ruger New Vaquero?
« on: March 28, 2022, 01:05:39 PM »
Hi guys.
I have been shooting CAS for about 7 years, but only with smokeless powder. I recently bought a pair of Ruger New Vaqueros in 45 LC and I am thinking about joining the dark side and trying out black powder in these guns. But what about cleaning the RNV's? Do I have to do a complete dissasembly for cleaning after every BP session? These revolvers aren't the simplest guns to take apart after my opinion..

Offline leatherjunkie

• Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: BP and cleaning the Ruger New Vaquero?
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2022, 02:59:41 PM »
I use old model vaqueros 357and shoot black powder cartridges.
clean up is easy no disassembly required.
you will hear of some secret mixes to clean out the fouling.
I mix ballistol with water.
I use a spray bottle and mark from the bottom of bottle to 1/8" up to 3/16" up. this is the line I pour ballistol to.
then I fill up the bottle with water.
this is about 10% ballistol to 90% water.
just spray down the barrel, frame and cylinder. wipe clean. takes about 5 mins to clean.
i carry the spray bottle mix and a bore snake in the gun cart. i can do a quick clean at the match when needed.
i also use same cleaning method for rifle and shotgun. if you are using the plastic wads in shotgun, you may wanna use windex in the barrel to help remove the plastic left from the wads

Offline McCrower

• Very Active Citizen
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2022, 03:47:31 AM »
Thanks for your reply and advices. But doesn't the BP residue get into the internal mechanism of the gun at some point?  :)

Advertising

« Reply #3 on: Today at 10:37:25 AM »

Offline hellgate

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2022, 10:44:26 AM »