Author Topic: Casting equipment value  (Read 3453 times)

Offline Steel Horse Bailey

• Jeff "Steel Horse Bailey" - BP Warthog & C&B Shooter
  • NCOWS Member
  • Top Active Citizen
  • A Master of the Sublime & Holy Order or the Soot
  • SASS #: 27463
  • NCOWS #: 1919
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Casting equipment value
« on: March 07, 2012, 04:21:04 AM »
Howdy friends!

I am new to selling used stuff and I need some opinions about what things would be worth.  I'm thinking of selling the remainder of my casting equipment and a friend here on CAS City is interested.  My stuff is used, but not at all abused and no more than 4 years old.  IF I sell, it will include a LOT of goodies, including:

PRS 250 45 Cal. BigLube boolit mould
Lee Production Pot PRO IV (15-20 lb.) new version
Lee ingot mould
Lyman ingot mould
Lyman dipper
Lyman lead thermometer
Cabine Tree standard lead hardness tester
Rapine mould prep (3/4 full)
2 containers of Frankford Arsenal lead flux compound
Mallet made from a hammer handle
A gas-fired melter (similar to a turkey pot burner) - not used by me, and disassembled for cleaning - uses a 20 or 40 lb propane can
A postal-type scale that reads to 35 -50 lbs.  (a cheap-o, but decent for estimates)
Some other dross spoons and little stuff that is handy to have

And about 50 to 60 ingots of ready-to-use alloy about 10-12 Brinnel hardness, some pure lead (maybe 20 lbs - some cleaned & poured into ingots, some uncleaned), and about 150-200 lbs of uncleaned wheelweights, with about 10 lbs of pure linotype

I KNOW that shipping would be prohibitive, but my pard and I live close enough to meet half-way with gas not being too much of an issue for the 200 mile trip (round trip distance)

So, in your opinions, what would a fair price be?  I know that $1.99 would be a GREAT price, but not fair, since I actually PAID for almost everything, including about half of the wheelweights and ALL of the lead.