Author Topic: Wild West Tech  (Read 7041 times)

Offline Cyrille

• Top Active Citizen
  • "To sing, to laugh, to dream, cock my hat, or gun"
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Wild West Tech
« on: March 06, 2006, 04:50:53 PM »
 I have been watching a T.V. show named "Wild West Tech. "  This series deals with various inventions made in the 19th century dealing mostly with firearm inovations and/or improvements. For the most part I agree with what is shown, I'm not that technically educated or minded for that matter. Anyways I have heard it stated that a.45 Colt bullet could take a man's arm off at 15 or 20 ft. I believe that it will substanally damage the arm, possibly making it forever useless, provided the shot victim survives. But to actually sever it from the torso, I believe would be a very rare thing.

Another thing I've heard, on a diffrent show is that a person hit by a bullet doesn't fly forward, backward or sideways depending on where the impact hits them. Any thoghts on these subjects?
CYRILLE...  R.A.T. #242
"Never apologize Mr.; it's a sign of weakness."
Capt. Nathan Brittles {John Wayne} in "She Wore a Yellow Ribbon."

"A gun is  just a tool. No better and no worse than any other tool----- Think of it always in that way. A gun is as good--- and as bad--- as the man who carries it. Remember that."
                                                   Shane

Offline Frenchie

• "We have met the enemy, and he is us." - Pogo
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Photo by Julio Zangroniz @ "September Storm", 2007
  • Liked:
Re: Wild West Tech
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2006, 12:51:45 AM »
No way any .45 will blow a man's arm off, not enough kinetic energy to do that.