Author Topic: Which brass do you prefer?  (Read 4915 times)

Offline Ol Gabe

• NCOWS Member
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 1
Which brass do you prefer?
« on: January 16, 2006, 02:27:33 PM »
When reloading for Big Bore Rifles, do you prefer Winchester brass or another variety over Starline and why? Give us some idea of what you think is better and your reasons, I'm sure we'll get some interesting replies.
For example: I've always shot Starline in my Pedersoli 45-70, it was said at the time I started shooting it that Starline was 'The' brass to use, now I hear from other fellas that (unlike me, they hit the target every time!) say Winchester is better and I'll need to anneal all my Starline brass to make it expand more if I'm ever gonna hit anything with it.
OK, what do you think is better and why?
Best regards and good thinking!
'Ol Gabe

Offline Silver Creek Slim

• Buckaroo
  • Deputy Marshal
  • Top Active Citizen
  • NCOWS #: 2329
  • GAF #: 144
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 107
Re: Which brass do you prefer?
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2006, 03:23:29 PM »
When I got my first .45-70 rifle I bought R-P brass from Midway because it was the least expensive. It works just fine for me. I was given some used Win brass. That works fine for me too. So, I don't know what to tell ya.  ???

Slim
NCOWS 2329, WartHog, SCORRS, SBSS, BHR, GAF, RBCS, Dirty RATS, BTBM, IPSAC, Cosie-in-training
I love the smell of Black Powder in the morning!

Offline Steel Horse Bailey

• Jeff "Steel Horse Bailey" - BP Warthog & C&B Shooter
  • NCOWS Member
  • Top Active Citizen
  • A Master of the Sublime & Holy Order or the Soot
  • SASS #: 27463
  • NCOWS #: 1919
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2006, 06:12:59 AM »
I had a long talk with a tech at Sierra as well as the friendly BP shooter/tech at Hodgdon, and both said that in the industry, Winchester is considered to have the softest brass and Starline is the toughest; very much like Military brass.