Author Topic: What pistol?  (Read 6352 times)

Offline WildernessDan

• Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
What pistol?
« on: August 05, 2004, 05:25:36 PM »
Howdy:

Well I am new to the CAS and just getting started.  But, I must say that there sure is a lot of good advice here.   I truly appreciate everyones input.  This will help me and other newbies with what we need for CAS.

My question is what would be a good sidearm to start of with? 

Big Hext Finnigan

Re: What pistol?
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2004, 05:56:54 PM »
Klondike
Very active citizen

In town

Re: Advice to the New CAS Shooter
« Reply #19 on: Today at 05:42:29pm »     

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Dan,
You will get every kind of advice on which pistol is best and why. The best I can tell you is go to a match and talk to shooters there, you will find they will be more than glad for you to try their guns. Sort through them, see what you like best and what you don't and what you can afford.
If you want to just jump in I would go to Ruger Vaqueros to start with, they are reasonable in price and very durable (strong), then if you decide you do not like them, you can usually re-coup most of your money fairly easy. My personal preference is 4 3/4" barreled models in 38/357, they seem to balance better for me in this barrel length. as we have said in this thread 38/357 is the least expensive for some one that does not reload, if you reload it is still the least expensive. Good Luck and welcome to cowboy shooting. 

Offline Capt. Jack McQuesten

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2004, 06:59:58 PM »
WD,