Author Topic: 44-40 brass problem/question  (Read 6056 times)

Offline major

• Top Active Citizen
  • I shoot blanks out of my Spencer for reenacting!
    • 9th New York Cavalry
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
44-40 brass problem/question
« on: February 25, 2018, 12:03:37 PM »

I have been loading 44-40 for CAS for several years now and mostly I use Starline brass.  I picked up a few Winchester & some CBC brass sometime in my travels and have had trouble getting them to chamber as easy as the Starline.  I load a .428 RNFP molly coated bullet and I never have any trouble getting cartridges made with the Starline brass to go into my chamber checker. But with the Win and CBC after they are completed, I always have to run them threw a sizer die before they will chamber all the way in my chamber checker and revolver.  Is there a reason this is happening?  Is the thickness of the Win and CBC brass thicker than the Starline?  Am I sizing the bullet down to small with the Win and CBC brass when I run them threw the sizer again?  Just wondering.
Terry
Free Mason
9th NYVC www.9thnycavalry.webeditor.com
155th NYVI http://155thny.org
Alabama Gun Slingers
Shadows of the old west reenactors
SASS Life Member
SCOPE Life Member
NRA Life member
Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a handsome, and well preserved body; but rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out and loudly proclaiming...."WOW!... What a ride!"

Offline Roscoe

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
Re: 44-40 brass problem/question
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2018, 12:32:22 PM »
Do you trim your brass? It grows quite a bit during sizing, so I lube and size before measuring and trimming. My Starline is not reliably chambering at 1.295 unless bullets are .428, so I have gone to 1.290 with success using .430 bullets and a 44 Special expander.

Offline Abilene

• CAS-L Ghost Rider
  • Top Active Citizen
    • Abilene's CAS Pages
  • SASS #: 27489
  • NCOWS #: 3958