Author Topic: AUTHENTICITY and GENUINE WARDROBE IN WESTERN FILMS  (Read 5229 times)

Offline levisurfer

• Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
AUTHENTICITY and GENUINE WARDROBE IN WESTERN FILMS
« on: July 29, 2017, 02:22:50 PM »
Hey!
Love old photos showing real authentic and genuine cowboys of the Wild West period.
I am intrigued by the use of collared shirts by so many cowboys.  I have been told by numerous people "in the know" that collards did not come in on shirts till late that century.  These images tend to suffuse otherwise.
I am a keen serious amateur photographer and filmmaker from the UK and love to film westerns in Arizona.  WE tend to aim for the 1880s as that gives us options to use older Civil War weapons as well as the 1873 Colt and Winchester.  Plus it gives us more latitude when it comes to gearing the cowboys up in genuine wardrobe, boots and weapons.

Can anyone give us some honest and authoritative advice on the wardrobe of that period.  Our next film will be set in southern AZ in or around 1880s and we will have a Doctor, Sheriff, lawmen and 5 outlaws.  The outlaws will be mainly 20s - 30s with one older outlaw in his 50s. 
What about facial hair?  I see moustaches were popular.  But what about beards, full beards, short beards, stubble, 5 o'clock shadows?
Any advice would be great appreciated and any more photographs to help us "style our cowboys would be great. 
My email address is paulv@paulv.co.uk
And if you would like to see the trailer to my last 60 minute western just let me know.
Thanks
Paul

Offline River City John

• NCOWS Senator
  • NCOWS Member
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Mr. & Mrs. John Covert
  • NCOWS #: L-146
  • GAF #: 275
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 463
Re: AUTHENTICITY and GENUINE WARDROBE IN WESTERN FILMS
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2017, 03:56:55 PM »
Photos sent via e-mail.

I would highly recommend the book "I See By Your Outfit". (ISBN search : https://isbnsearch.org/isbn/9780931271335) Many use it as a primary reference.