Author Topic: New to CAS -- Reloading for Pistol/Rifle  (Read 4700 times)

Offline Cinco Peso

• Very Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
New to CAS -- Reloading for Pistol/Rifle
« on: January 24, 2015, 05:16:29 PM »
I have been reloading for many years, but for 45 ACP and 223.
Now that my interest has shifted to CAS, I have some questions (45 Colt revolver and Rifle):
1) Does one load the same recipe for rifle and revolver?
2) Will the rifle be more picky about COL,
3)Any other advice greatly appreciated it

Offline Shotgun Franklin

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
Re: New to CAS -- Reloading for Pistol/Rifle
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2015, 06:11:00 PM »
#1 Most everyone does.
#2 Some are especially the '92.
#3 With shotshell components as expensive as they are, most people just buy a case of dove loads.
Yes, I do have more facial hair now.

Offline Litl Red

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2015, 06:15:22 PM »
No reason for different loads as neither rifle or revolver demand anything except reliability.  Since pistols don't care much about OL but rifles might, suit the rifle IF it doesn't like standard OL.   You are going to start with that right?  

Don't worry too much about working for ultra-light loads.  They require charges that often won't meter uniformly with a number of the popular powders, and the top shooters have proven that weaker loads can actually cost you speed (which is about the only demand in the game).   Start with a recommended start load for whatever components you can find or already have.  If you decide it'd be nicer to shoot softer loads, work down from that start load.   There are a number of favorite powders and some cast bullet suppliers people will recommend.  If you're looking for that kind of guidance, there are plenty who will heap it on you.   About the only detail that matters is to look for a bulky powder to make double charging more obvious.  

have fun

Advertising