Author Topic: For the hunters: Need advice on an ethics (Non-Cas) question  (Read 11794 times)

Offline hhughh

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
For the hunters: Need advice on an ethics (Non-Cas) question
« on: September 22, 2012, 02:13:11 AM »
Pards,
   I’m a little conflicted here, and need some help.  I’ve posted some on the boards, and have also spent time snooping, reading, and learning, and I have lots of respect for the knowledge and wisdom (not always the same thing) displayed here.  I’m not looking to start a flame-throwing exercise, I just would like to hear from some people on which side of the fence you come down on and why.  Again--don’t be attacking someone else or their stance, just please present your side and be supportive of your opinion.

It’s about shooting a buffalo (I know, it’s bison, but….it wasn’t Bison Bill Cody).  First, please notice that I did not refer to it as hunting a buffalo.  Anywhere I could go would be some game-ranch type operation, and it’s not hunting in the way I pursue deer and turkey.  I have a young son who thinks it would be a grand lark to go somewhere and shoot a buffalo--he’s still young enough that he understands Dad would be doing the shooting.  Personally, I wouldn’t mind the meat at all, and it does seem to me to be something of an experience to pull the trigger on a critter like that.  But I’ve insisted to him that we will never refer to it as hunting.