Author Topic: Essential armoring for new Rem 1875 and 1873 Winch  (Read 6578 times)

Offline Logan

• Active citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Essential armoring for new Rem 1875 and 1873 Winch
« on: March 30, 2014, 03:14:08 PM »
I'm just breaking into CAS and have received a pair of 1875 Remingtons and an 1873 Winch in 44-40.  I've been reading all the armoring that can be done to get the guns match ready.  Since I'm just starting out I'd just like to do the basic work on the guns for now. 

On the Remingtons I'm thinking of lightening the hammer spring and smoothing the actions.  The trigger weight is not bad.  What other armor work should I consider on these pistols?

For the 1873 Winch I've read of a long list of work that can be done.  For the moment I would prefer not to short stroke it.  The action and trigger do need a bit of work.  Again what would be the recommended basic work needed to get it ready for matches?

Thanks

Offline Angel_Eyes

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
Re: Essential armoring for new Rem 1875 and 1873 Winch
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2014, 03:07:01 AM »
For your first few matches, run them as they are so that you can get used to the match format.

Get the sequences in your mind and concentrate on safe usage of your firearms.

Once you have got all that down pat, then you might have a better idea of what tuning is required'

Personally, I run all mine as they came from the factory, except my shotgun which lost the chokes, not easy with a side-by-side!
Trouble is...when I'm paid to do a job, I always carry it through. (Angel Eyes, The Good, The Bad & The Ugly)
BWSS # 54, RATS# 445, SCORRS,
Cowboy from Robin Hood's back yard!!

Offline rdstrain49

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2014, 07:35:19 AM »
Yep, what he said.

Advertising

« Reply #3 on: Today at 04:11:33 PM »

Offline Logan

• Active citizen
  • Liked:
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2014, 07:17:07 PM »
Thank you

Offline River City John

• NCOWS Senator