Author Topic: Dry Firing for practice, Yes or No ?  (Read 9779 times)

Offline BobbyF

• Very Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Dry Firing for practice, Yes or No ?
« on: November 26, 2013, 07:57:15 PM »
Hi Pards,

I am awaiting the delivery of a new Big Boy in .357 / .38 . I know from having read many of the prior posts that maybe a bad or good decision, I guess I will find out. I never owned a rifle but I have some experience shooting them. I am wondering if it is Ok to work the action and dry fire such a rifle, or do you have to only practice with live ammo at the range ?
     Thank you in advance for your thoughts on this matter and for all your prior replies. You Pards got me and my friend joining CAS in Albuquerque, NM-- BobbyF

Offline Pettifogger

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 19
Re: Dry Firing for practice, Yes or No ?
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2013, 09:42:24 PM »
No one I know uses a Big Boy for competition.  However, all good shooters dry fire and dry fire a lot.  There are dummy rounds with a portion of the rim removed so the extractor won't pull the shell out of the gun.  A lot of top shooters have dry fired hundreds of thousands of cycles without snap caps.  Depends on the type of gun.

Offline rickk

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2013, 10:29:06 AM »
If you have absolutely any issues with the Big Boy whatsoever, just give them a call.

More than likely, Antonio will answer the phone.

Antonio owns HRA.

If there is a problem with he gun, he will send you a prepaid UPS label so you can send it back on his dime. You will probably get it back all fixed in a couple of weeks.

Most people have no issues with them at all. I was one of the unlucky ones who did have a problem. When I got it back, it was not only fixed, but it seemed like someone spent some extra time with it slicking it up a bit.