Author Topic: Cimarron Model P...how strong is it?  (Read 9860 times)

Offline rod locker

• Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Cimarron Model P...how strong is it?
« on: December 11, 2011, 06:03:12 PM »
I am very close to buying one in a .45 LC.  Is it strong enough to take loads right off the shelf or is it better equipped for cowboy loads?  I am very new at this game and just beginning to learn about this aspect of shooting.  Thanks for the help.

Offline Shotgun Franklin

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
Re: Cimarron Model P...how strong is it?
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2011, 07:00:27 PM »
Your gun will handle any standard .45 Colt load and all factory ammo NOT marked +P. With black powder you can easily push a 250 gr lead bullet faster than 900 fps. I've shot hundreds, maybe thousands, of rounds of ammo loaded with a 200 gr lead bullet at over 900 fps through the exact same type gun.
Yes, I do have more facial hair now.

Offline Steel Horse Bailey

• Jeff "Steel Horse Bailey" - BP Warthog & C&B Shooter
  • NCOWS Member
  • Top Active Citizen
  • A Master of the Sublime & Holy Order or the Soot
  • SASS #: 27463
  • NCOWS #: 1919
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2011, 01:02:04 AM »
Right on.

Any off-the-shelf ammo, either Cowboy loads or standard will be fine.  Like Shotgun stated, stay away from +P loads, most notably the loads Cor-Bon makes for hunting.  (300 gr. and 260/275 gr. or thereabouts, if I remember rightly.)  They could damage your new purchase ... and/or maybe YOU!
"May Your Powder always be Dry and Black; Your Smoke always White; and Your Flames Always Light the Way to Eternal Shooting Fulfillment !"

Advertising

« Reply #3 on: Today at 01:12:21 PM »

Offline cpt dan blodgett

• Top Active Citizen
  • SASS Conv 2013
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 3
« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2011, 05:10:36 PM »
If you want to go with plus p ammo or some of the hot hunting stuff ruger super blackhawks are the best bet, if not the only real game in town.