Author Topic: No 11 Caps Colt Dragoon  (Read 3283 times)

Offline Gray Rat

• Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
No 11 Caps Colt Dragoon
« on: July 24, 2011, 10:41:29 AM »
Im new to BP CB and Im haveing some trouble putting the caps on the nipples.  The press on real hard and dont seat as well as I would expect.  Not knowing much about caps.  I read in the Colt manual that I needed No 11 caps.  So I bought CCI No 11 Magnum Caps.  Is there a difference in the physical size between a CCI No 11 percussion cap and a CCI No 11 Magnum cap.  Im trying to put a CCI No 11 Magnum cap on a 2nd gen 3rd modle Colt Dragoon made by Colt and it goes on real hard and only fires 50% of the time. 

Thanks in advance for the help.

Gray Rat
SASS 51579

Offline Fingers McGee

• American Plainsmen Society
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Smoke & Fire
  • SASS #: R28654
  • NCOWS #: 3638
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 6
Re: No 11 Caps Colt Dragoon
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2011, 12:17:11 PM »
Here's a chart with nominal sizes of various caps.  If the #11 CCIs dont work, try the shorter skirted #11 Remingtons.  Even though the opening size is the same, the shorter height will fit the taper of the cone better.

Fingers (Show Me MO smoke) McGee;
SASS Regulator 28654 - L - TG; NCOWS 3638
AKA Man of many Colts; Diabolical Ken's alter ego; stage writer extraordinaire; Frontiersman/Pistoleer; Rangemaster
Founding Member - Central Ozarks Western Shooters
Member - Southern Missouri Rangers;
NRA Patron Life: GOA; CCRKBA; SAF; SV-114 (CWO4 ret); STORM 327

"Cynic:  A blackguard whose faulty vision sees thing as they are, not as they should be"  Ambrose Bierce

Offline Tsalagidave

• American Plainsmen Society
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Dave Rodgers
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 61
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2011, 03:16:46 PM »