Author Topic: Problem with Uberti Schofiled .45LC  (Read 35929 times)

Offline Doug.38PR

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Problem with Uberti Schofiled .45LC
« on: October 11, 2010, 02:42:17 PM »
Hello all!  I'm somewhat new to the world of Cowboy Action shooting (actually I'm not a CAS, but I DO like old guns type guns including old western guns) so forgive me if I'm ignorant of certain things.

I have a Uberti Schofield .45LC with a 7 inch barrel.  Nice gun, feels great.  BUT, it's cylinder binds after about a dozen rounds.  It's been doing it since I got the gun 4 years ago.  I've had some tell me that they've never had this problem with this gun.  I sent it back to Berretta/Uberti and they told me that it is just the way it is and to clean the cylinder and cone every dozen rounds.   A CAS at a local gunshow a few weeks ago told me it was the main problem that people had with the original schofield.

Two sources that would seem highly credible: The manufacteror and a CAS.....but it just doesn't seem right somehow.  I've never heard on or offline of this being the case with the schofield (original or uberti).   Doesn't seem right to have to carry a screwdriver around and take the cylinder out and wipe it down every 12 shots.

Should the gun be doing this?  Or is there something that can be done or SHOULD have been done (by the factory)?

Thanks
Doug

Offline St. George

• Deputy Marshal
  • Top Active Citizen
  • NCOWS , GAF, B.O.L.D., Order of St. George, SOCOM,
  • Liked:
Re: Problem with Uberti Schofiled .45LC
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2010, 03:52:15 PM »
You don't say what sort of powder you're using.

Modern Schofields in .45 Colt don't handle black powder all that efficiently - the originals all had gas rings to eliminate that business, but due to the longer cylinder on new guns - that's been eliminated in production.