Author Topic: Grips  (Read 3100 times)

Offline rafterp

• Active citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Grips
« on: November 03, 2009, 01:18:37 PM »
I'm new to the sport and mostly lurk on this site. I'm not sure if this is the right forum, but I was reading the thread about making the 1860 grips and it brought up a question I've been wondering about. What is the difference between "one piece" and "two piece" grips? I mean it seems obvious that there are two pieces to a two piece grip, but I don't see how any grips could be one piece. Could someone post an example of each? The grips posted in the 1860 grip thread, I assume are two piece?? Thanks for helping clear this up.

Offline Curley Cole

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
Re: Grips
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2009, 02:30:10 PM »
Some "one piece" grips are actually THREE piece...As you saw in the pix on amins thread, he took the two flats and glued a spacer in between to go inside the frame..This is esp effective if workin with some ivory and you don't have that thick a piece.  Most of my ivorys are two piece as that is all that Boone Traders offer at this time.

amins pix shows the effect well. Hope that answers yer question. hope you enjoy the site.

good shootin
curley
Scars are tatoos with better stories.
The Cowboys
Silver Queen Mine Regulators
dammit gang

Offline amin ledbetter

• Top Active Citizen
  • Tell 'em I'm comin! And Hell's comin with me!!!!!
    • Ledbetter Leather
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2009, 03:06:43 PM »
Welcome to forums.

Most one piece grips will have no visible screw going through the main body of the grip. Thus the grip frame, or as we often refer to them ( on Colts ) as the back strap ( BS ) and the trigger guard ( TG ), hold the grips in place. On a one piece grip the above mentioned BS/TG hold the grip on the gun by applying upward and forward pressure on the inside section or tie. This keeps the grips in place. Here are an example of each type. First a one piece grip