Author Topic: Newbie 45LC reloading question.  (Read 10668 times)

Offline Wagon Box Willy

• Top Active Citizen
    • My BPCR/CAS Site
  • SASS #: 89519
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Newbie 45LC reloading question.
« on: March 14, 2009, 05:54:28 PM »
Howdy Pards,

I bought myself the Lee Anniversary Breech Lock Challenger kit and the 3 die Lee 45 Colt die set.  I've never done any reloading before.

I did reload a few rounds with the starting load and they did slip into my R&D conversion nicely but even so I have a Lee Factory Crimp/resizing die on order.

My question is that the instructions for the Lee bullet seating die also says it crimps however I dont see any crimp.  I think I followed the instructions correctly which I believe said that after backing out the die 3 full turns and then adjusting the knob for the proper OAL, turn the die in a little bit (I turned it 1/4 turn) for the crimp.

I did that but didn't see any crimp and was afraid to turn it in more as it seems to me that would reduce the OAL.

So what am I missing?

Thanks
  Willy

Offline Curley Cole

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
Re: Newbie 45LC reloading question.
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2009, 06:21:31 PM »
Did you get the book by Dr Richard Lee "Modern Reloading" with the press? If not I suggest you get it. It is excellent reading, gives you step by step instructions including pictures AND he explains why you did what you did. And besides it will be your first loading manual with information on powder charges and bullet weights etc...

now to answer your question, I load 45lc and 38sp (well I load a bunch of others but for this thread that is all that is important)