Author Topic: Muzzle blast muffler  (Read 5600 times)

38-72

Muzzle blast muffler
« on: December 06, 2008, 11:45:10 AM »
I am looking for plans on how to build a noise suppression box (sort of muffler) that will cut down the muzzle blast noise when I fire my rifle.  I’m not looking for a silencer or anything else that attaches to the barrel.  In my mind’s eye, I envision a short box or tunnel with baffling (or??) to absorb the blast noise, but I have no idea if this would work.

I have a safe place to shoot, but I do not want to annoy the neighbors. 

Does anyone have a suggestion?

Offline Goatlips

• Top Active Citizen
    • Goatlips' BlackPowder Tips
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Muzzle blast muffler
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2008, 11:31:33 PM »
38-72,

I have no personal knowledge whatsoever on this subject but I saw a picture of a tube made out of old tires that was supposed to cut down the noise. Ya shot through the tunnel of tires.  Was about 12 feet long. Let us know if you find any better answers!

Goatlips
Wolverine Rangers/Lake County Pistoleros
Visit my Blackpowder site:
http://goatlipstips.cas-town.com/index.html

http://goatlips.hrillc.com/goatlipstips.cas-town.com/index.html

width=200 height=30]http://www.cascity.com/layoutimages/mycascityprofile.gif[/img][/url]

Offline Leo Tanner

• RATS #401 STORM 330
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Life is Good
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2008, 12:19:27 AM »
The hard part in doing this would be to not interfere with sighting.  That would make it poinless.  The only compromise I've ever found in cutting down on noise is ta practice with a .22, but I know that's just not the same.  But ya got me curious now.  Hope ta see some answers.

Leo
"When you have to shoot, shoot.  Don't talk."
     Tuco--The Good the Bad and the Ugly

"First comes smiles, then lies.  Last is gunfire."
     Roland Deschain

"Every man steps in the manure now an again, trick is not ta stick yer foot in yer mouth afterward"