Author Topic: Marlin 1894C  (Read 8335 times)

Offline warren126

• Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Marlin 1894C
« on: August 10, 2008, 11:06:11 AM »
Hi Y'all;
I'm pretty much a newbie here. I do own a Ruger Vaquero, .357 and man is it fun to shoot. Been looking for quite a while for an 1894C; but you can't find one anywhere. Well; last week I decided to go to the local Cabela's and check out their used rifles. The only cowboy rifle was a Puma in .45. I really want a .357; same as the 6-gun. Well. I meandered around to the new gun side and headed for the lever-guns. What to my surprise is sitting right out in front; but a Marlin 1894C in .357. I took a number and when they called it I got a-hold of my first 1894C. "SOLD", I said. What a nice piece. Can't wait to shoot it. Going to take it to the range tuesday. I do have a question though. What is "safe" style ammo for these rifles,, as far as the "chain reaction" firing in the magazine is concerned. Can I use any flat-point ammo? I have WInchester JSP that I am going to try. Any suggestions?
Thanks for the respone.
Happy Trails

Offline Buffalow Red

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
Re: Marlin 1894C
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2008, 11:44:13 AM »
i have used lot of different bullet designs in my 1894 44 rem mag all seemed to do well allways had a flat point
No free man shall ever be debarred the use of arms.
Thomas Jefferson
  SHOOT STRAIGHT & LETS BURN SOME POWDER
Warthogs rule
Life NRA
SCORRS/ rugers/ 66 in 44-40  , trap door shooter
Southern Mo. Ranger
SASS
BSA SM RETIRED

Offline Four-Eyed Buck

• Top Active Citizen
  • Tusco LongRiders,
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2008, 09:33:13 AM »
As long as that "flat Point" is of a diameter that is larger than the primer diameter of the cartridge in front of it, you should be okay.......................Buck 8) ::) ;)
I might be slow, but I'm mostly accurate.....

Advertising

« Reply #3 on: Today at 06:35:32 PM »

Offline warren126

• Citizen
  • Liked: