Author Topic: Best Colt Clone  (Read 10805 times)

Offline russ1943

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 6
Best Colt Clone
« on: July 03, 2008, 11:30:23 AM »
Hi,

I am new to the game and was wondering what is the best clone SAA. I can get an EMF Hartford Deluxe (Armi San Marco 1996), or Uberti Cattlemen all steel (1997), both NIB. The EMF seems to be the best fit and feel and cloest to the Colt Peacemaker Centenial (1973)

I have a Great Western from the 1958 (44 Special with a 44-40 cylinder). In my opinion it is not that accurate in 44-40, 44 Special it is a lot better.

What is the opinion of shooters who have used these in competition? What would be a fair price for the EMF and Uberti?

Thanks,

Offline Black Powder

• Top Active Citizen
  • Not messed with since 1956
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Best Colt Clone
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2008, 12:56:05 PM »
Lots of discussions on this here in the forum.

My Uberti is a Cimarron.  Got it from Buffalo Arms.  Replaced the springs and am good to go.

Believe you'll find recommendations for both Uberti & Pietta; Pietta has been reported to improved quality greatly vs. years ago.  Don't know if that includes '97 or not.  Cimarron is still keeping patent dates on the frames; been reported that EMF is not.

You'll also find many positives on Rugers and if price is no object, certainly USFA.

I wanted an old model frame and that helped narrow the field.  I got exactly what I wanted and am very pleased.

BP

I've got my excuses and I'm stickin' to 'em.

Offline Curley Cole

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2008, 07:11:43 PM »
In my personal opinion  the Great Western 2 is currently the BEST Colt clone you can get. I am not alone in that opinion. Capt Geo. Baylor did a 2 page review in the latest Chronicle and there have been several reviews in recent gun magazines that also state the fact.