Author Topic: Newbie here, How to identify a real 1858?  (Read 4307 times)

Offline sheikss

• Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Newbie here, How to identify a real 1858?
« on: May 03, 2008, 02:05:18 PM »
Went to a gun store and saw a 1858 remi that they claimed was an original. The gunis in remarkable shape which makes me question it's authenticity. What are some things to look for to ensure it's not a reproduction? I've tried google and came up empty. Thanks

Offline Wolfgang

• Top Active Citizen
    • The Desperate Hot Springs News
  • Liked:
Re: Newbie here, How to identify a real 1858?
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2008, 10:10:00 PM »
There's folks around here far more expurt on originals than I am, . . . so I'll let them answer your question.  But I'm curious about the price they are askin' ? . . . Buying one or more original '58s is on my shopping list but there's a few other items ahead of them.  I'll be watching this thread to learn all I can.  Good shootin', . . .  :)

ps.  Ya might have a look around the internet at the originals offered by legitimate antique and collectable dealers to see the conditions and prices that are typical.  I keep looking at all that come up for reference re condition and pricing.  I'm looking to spend  around  $ 1,200 or so for a pretty decent one.  Really nice ones easily go to twice that or higher.
Beware the man with one gun, he probably knows how to use it.

Offline Flint

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2008, 08:57:53 PM »
First of all, on a New Model Navy, the barrel top flat is stamped:  "PATENTED DEC. 17, 1861. MANUFACTURED BY REMINGTON'S, ILION, N.Y."

A New Model Army will have: "PATENTED SEPT. 14, 1858, E. REMINGTON & SONS, ILION, N.Y., U.S.A. NEW MODEL"

A Beals will have the markings: "BEALS PATENT, SEPT. 14, 1858.  MANUFACTURED BY REMINGTON, ILION, N.Y."