Author Topic: Hodgdon Pyrodex Pellets  (Read 7293 times)

Offline Sheriff A.E. Moses

• Very Active Citizen
    • Millbrook Wranglers
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Hodgdon Pyrodex Pellets
« on: October 24, 2004, 06:14:31 PM »
Need a little advice.....
I loaded some Hodgdon 30 grain Pyrodex Pellets in my 44-40 cartridge with a magnum primer and a 200 grain bullet and they are plenty stiff for me. I just got my wrists back from the arthuritis family and I was wondering if anyone has cut about 1/3 of the pellet off to see what happens.
I am just getting into this black powder stuff, and I still don't understand why the same bullet from Meister Bullets is over twice as much money when you specify black powder vs smokeless powder......what would happen if a fella was to lay a little spg lube on top the pellet before he seated a smokeless bullet?
If I have to pay the price of high dollar bullets, it is almost as cheap to buy them ready made ones from Black Dawge and save myself a lot of grief.......
Tell me what ya think..............
Sheriff A.E. Moses
First Duly Elected Sheriff
Graham County Kansas
~:~1880 - 1881~:~
Cowboy Action Shooter
~:~1999 - 2011~:~
=-=B.O.L.D. - 14=-=
http://www.millbrook.ruraltel.net

Offline Willie Wheelgun

• Very Active Citizen
  • Liked:
Re: Hodgdon Pyrodex Pellets
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2004, 07:46:40 PM »
I had some Hodgdon Pyrodex pellets and loaded them up in my 45 Colt brass as I was in a hurry for a match.  Too stout a load and clean-up was no bargain.  I am back to the real Black Powder.
Try Desperado Bullets next time.  Good price and soft lead. 
JMHO
Willie :-\
Land of the free BECAUSE of the brave!
God Bless America
Soos Creek, Washington Territory

Offline Qball

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2004, 03:33:04 AM »
If 30 grains pyrodex pellets is to stif? how does it behaves compared to 30grains regular blackpowder?