Author Topic: 1870's Period Correct Cowboy Boot Source  (Read 80072 times)

Offline James Hunt

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
1870's Period Correct Cowboy Boot Source
« on: January 18, 2007, 05:35:44 AM »
I am no boot expert - my bona fides declared I'll proceed.

My period is the mid to late 1870's and I have long wondered about the boots I have. I understand that the boots of the period may not, most likely did not have a difference between rt and lft until you wore them enough, they were usually one piece fronts or 3/4 vamp, the soles were often not re-enforced as today's, and until the late 19th century the heel only extended to the side seam - not ahead of it as today's boots do. the soles were pegged.

So I look at the boot(s) I have for that period and wonder. I know that an exact description of the above boot is not available unless you find a custom maker who will fullfill your wishes. Mine look OK from a distance, and I don't have to soak them in a horse trough and then wear them for three day's without removal to establish lft and rt. But I also notice that on the bottom of the leather heel there is a synthetic material dyed the same as the leather. I suppose it is there becuase it wears better. I'm not sure I understand what pegged means.

Anyway - I came across the following boot being sold by David Corrico. He is well respected in the CW an early west saddle making field and a nice fellow to talk with. He has just started selling these and I submit the following address if you are interested in an early cowboy boot, It is supposed to be copied from one in the Cowboy Hall of Fame. I would be interested in your comments on it.

http://www.carricoleather.com/home/boots.html
NCOWS, CMSA, NRA
"The duty is ours, the results are God's." (John Quincy Adams)

Offline Ottawa Creek Bill

• Vietnam Vet 1966,67 First place, Southeast Asia Rifle Team, "66/67"
  • Top Active Citizen
  • OCB, A Newer, More Gentler NCOWS Member...........